Rooted in Him

Rooted in Him
Devotional by Jess Poppie

                                   Before you read pray and ask God to reveal Himself to you.

Do you ever doubt your faith? That somehow when you put your faith in Christ and started your relationship with Him – that it wasn’t genuine and you said the wrong words, or you didn’t say the right prayer? Do you get anxious about whether you are good enough, or if you will actually get into heaven? If you do, don’t think you’re odd or somehow a “bad Christian”. Lots of people struggle with this….in fact I do!

Just last week I started to think about sins I had done in the past, how much I still mess up daily, and how I can’t get this Christian life right. I was listening to my feelings of apathy rather than the Truth. I was so convinced I couldn’t have access to God through Christ because I had not said the right prayer, didn’t have a strong desire to seek God, or wasn’t living a perfect life. I have struggled with this many times in my life before, because often I lack a feeling or desire to know and please God. Even though my brain knows having a relationship with Christ is far more than feelings, sometimes I don’t understand. In the midst of my doubting, God lead me and gave me the humility to tell others about my struggle; which is where He reminded me once again not to be rooted in myself, but in Christ. He gave me a revelation of who He is.

This was the revelation:

Please read the scripture that’s provided. *I will not be explaining each passage to you because I want you to sit down and listen to what God has to say to you specifically through His Word. Also when you learn something for yourself it becomes personal and you understand it better.

-God chased after us; He is the one who started this. We didn’t even go after Him.

God shows this to us through Ephesian 3:7-13 (Go ahead read it)

-We do not make ourselves faithful; God gives us the faith we need to trust Him. It is not naturally inside of us.

God shows us these passages:  Ephesians 2:8, Romans 3:23

-We are completely forgiven of our sins: past, present and future

Our God says so: 1 John 1:7, Psalm 103:12, and Hebrews 10:17

-Our relationship with Christ is a process, and God will continue this process until we see Him face to face in Heaven

Philippians 1:6

A huge part of this revelation was thinking about and observing the life of Paul. Before Paul entered a relationship with Christ on the outside his life looked like the right way to live (Philippians 3:2-8), but his soul wasn’t right before God. He thought he was living rightly and did not think he needed Christ. His heart was so turned away from God that he passionately wanted to arrest anyone who was following Christ. Although God chased after him and transformed him completely, so much so that all Paul wanted to do with His life was proclaim Christ and live for Him. You can read about it in Acts 9:1-19 and see Paul’s heart for Christ in the books He wrote (Romans, 1st and 2nd Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1st and 2nd Thessalonians, 1st and 2nd Timothy, Titus, Philemon, and Hebrews.)

Some questions to get you thinking:

Do you doubt your faith?

What causes you to doubt your faith?

Why do you suppose we base our faith so much off of feeling?

What at the central causes our doubt? What is the core of it? Where does it come from? Who does it come from?

What does it mean in your own words to be rooted in Christ?

Can you define forgiveness?

Do you believe Christ forgave your past present and future sins?

Going Deeper:

Time to dig into scripture more! Pray to God and ask Him to show you the truth about your relationship. Get a Bible, a notebook, a decent chunk of time, and a concordance (You can find one online if you don’t own one.) Use these tools and find 10 or more verses that are about what makes us saved, and what salvation is. Read each one carefully and take time to allow God to speak and think about what He is saying. After you do this, ask God to direct you in which verse He would want you to memorize. Then memorize the verse so that you are rooted in Christ when you begin to doubt.

Thanks for reading; I hope God spoke to you.

Stay Rooted in Him,

Jess Poppie
J Poppie

Leave a Reply

