Broken

Broken
Devotional by Quinton Fernlund

“The Lord detests lying lips, but he delights in men who are truthful.” – Proverbs 12:22

Like almost everyone these days, I have a cell phone. Specifically, an android. When I bought it, it was a significant upgrade from my previous smart phone. Along with my new phone, I bought a case. I really enjoyed how rugged and durable it was, and the fact that it protected my new phone from me inevitably dropping it. Over time, though, I grew to dislike the case that now protected my phone. As I continued to use my cell phone I found it highly annoying that it was so bulky in my back pocket. Like many of you can imagine from your own cases, it felt like sitting on a little brick. Constantly sitting lopsided didn’t take long to bug me. I also realized I had a habit of spinning my phone in my hand, but I couldn’t anymore because of the thickness of the case.

Long story short, I took the case off my phone. The problem was fixed and things were much more convenient.

I knew that taking off the case put my phone at risk, and I was prepared to live with those consequences because of the ease I now had once again.

Not too long after, and many drops later, my phone got a very small crack in the bottom left corner. This crack was just on the surface of the screen and was only cosmetic. I picked up the phone with a sigh of relief and went on with my life. Eventually, after more use and many more drops, this little surface crack grew larger and larger ending with spider web cracks across my whole screen. Although I knew the crack was growing over time it didn’t seem like it was that bad until I remembered the very small crack it started out as. Still, I wasn’t prepared to trade the convenience that I had for another case because the damage wasn’t affecting the phones ability or so I thought.

Over time I realized that this was no longer true. My phone started acting funny and would sometime not do what I wanted it to. I came to the conclusion that because of the cracks, moisture must have gotten in and was slowly destroying my phone from the inside out.

Often times I think we as Christians do this in our own lives. When we repent of our sins and give our lives to Christ we become brand new! But over time we let compromises (Sin) into our lives. Usually it starts off as “just a crack”- just a little lie or a little misdirection. Barely noticeable, and hardly even there, or so we think! Instead of repenting of this sin and fixing the problem (putting on the case) we rationalize it and move on.

As time passes we continue to put off this small crack yet still adding to it, creating a spider web of lies. What was once a brand new phone was now damaged. We realize what an issue this has become and wonder how could I have let it get this far? Though in most cases we continue in our stubbornness instead of dealing with it and fixing the problem -because now it’s just easier to continue with the lie.

Lies almost never start out large. It’s a slow progression that builds up one after the other as you start to cover up for the last.

Winston Churchill once said, “A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get his pants on.”

Just like my phone with cracks, we let lies into our life. “Little” cracks (lies) can destroy the entire course of our lives as said in James 3:5.

As humans, we are born broken with sin in our lives. You never need to teach a child how to lie because it comes naturally in our sinful nature.

But that’s not where it ends. Regardless of how broken we are, God’s promise of forgiveness is right in front of us. In 1 John 1:9 God tells us how to be made new, all we have to do is “put on the case!”

In Christ,
Quinton Fernlund

Pic 20

Leave a Reply

