Walk by Faith…or Fear?
A devotional by Rachel Roth

Fear is the enemy’s number one weapon.

Fear… leaves us feeling anxious and overwhelmed.
Fear… makes us powerless and weak.
Fear… wastes our time, zaps our energy, and kills our hope.
Fear… deceives us and paralyzes us.
Fear… leads us to believe that God isn’t big enough, and that God doesn’t care.

Everyone experiences fear in their life. There are big fears we are very aware of and little ones we may not even realize we have.

Lately, I have been worrying a lot about what the future holds. This is mainly because I graduate from college in May and I am unsure where God is calling me to go. I fear that I will be a failure, that I will disappoint my family, and that I will move to a new place and get lonely… the list goes on.

What fears do you have? How do these get in the way of your walk with God?

For me, part of the problem is a lack of trust in God and doubting that God really is good and that He loves me. I realized that it’s okay to tell God how I’m feeling and ask Him to show me that He loves me and that I can trust Him.

Earlier this week before going to bed I got down on my knees and asked God to show me that He loved me, to help me truly believe it. After silently waiting for a response, He answered me by saying, “Rachel, I sent my son to die on the cross for you. That is how much I love you.” How can I question His love for me when He gave up His own son for me?

Do you believe that God really loves you? That He is good?

It is easy to forget this truth and I need to constantly remind myself of the sacrifice God made for me. There are also two verses that are helping me to work through my fears that I encourage you to read and meditate on:

Isaiah 41:10 “Do not fear for I am with you. Do not anxiously look about you because I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you. Surely, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”
(This is a great one to memorize to say in your head throughout the day)

-the right hand is important because it is the hand relied upon in battle. It is the hand that is trusted. It is the hand that fights, the hand that holds the weapon, the hand that must be strong. That is where God holds us, in His righteous right hand.

Psalm 118:6 “The Lord is on my side. I will not fear. What can man do to me?”

Simply put, fear is the opposite of faith. God wants us to walk by faith, Satan wants us to walk by fear. When we live by faith we can have a fulfilling, peaceful, and joyful life in Christ.

Do you want to live in fear? Or live by faith?

It is important to read God’s Word and mediate on it after. This way we can learn who we are in Christ. I challenge you to say this truth out loud and ask yourself if you truly believe it deep down in your core, and if not, it’s okay to ask God to help you believe it.
“Today, I choose to no longer live in fear, the enemy has no hold on me.”

Other verses for why we don’t have to live in fear!

Psalm 34:4 – “I prayed to the Lord, and He answered me. He freed me from all my fears.”

1 John 4:18 – “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made in perfect love.”

Trusting Him,
Rachel

Rachel

Some tidbits from this devotional were used from:

http://www.oneplace.com/devotionals/live-it/5-reasons-we-dont-have-to-fear-11720197.html

https://www.joycemeyer.org/articles/ea.aspx?article=the_key_to_overcoming_every_fear

