My Identity

My Identity
a devotional by Katie Christensen

“Okay, the question is, “Who are you?”  It’s your turn to answer, Katie.  It’s not about what you do………Who are you?”  Mr. Ringel asked as I walked into Sunday School.  I was a little late because I had been playing violin on the worship team.

Not being one who likes to make people wait for me, I quickly came up with an answer, “Ummmmmm. I suppose I am a thinker because I like to think about things, and I think about things almost to the degree of obsession at times.” I stumbled in reply.

Being the over-thinker that I am, I immediately analyzed my answer.  Well, that was a dumb answer!

When I begin thinking about a problem such as this, I don’t rest until I have a satisfactory answer about what I really believe.  So, my thoughts continued: I am a thinker, but that is only one small part of my personality.  That is not my identity.

Well, I think I know what kind of answer would be correct according to a Christian view point.  I could have said any number of things that I knew off the top of my head at the time, but is that really what I believe?

2 Corinthians 5:17 says: Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

I think that’s awesome because I love new stuff, new dresses, new clothes, a new puppy.  You name it.

God has given me a new identity as well!

Romans 8:26-27 says: In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness.  We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.  And He who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.

How cool is that?  If anyone is in Christ he or she is a new creation in Him and he or she has the Spirit interceding for him on His behalf and accordance with God’s will.

It is so freeing to know what your identity as a believer in Christ is! 

In Christ,
Katie Christensen

Katie

 

 

 

Flower clipart courtesy of angiemakes.com

Leave a Reply

