“Misplaced Hope”
a devotional by Marco Patz

You can’t live without it, and when you have it, you want it to be real and reliable.
We look up to people who are full of it and no one wants to be without it.
What am I talking about? Hope!

Hope is what we all want, but most of the things we hope in will disappoint us.
We want hope, and we refuse to live without it.

There are many times in my life where I could I given up and quit, but I didn’t because I had hope. Growing up in a rough childhood, my hope was very simple in what I hoped for through the day. But as I got older and now am in college, I struggle in where I rest my hope in. So what is hope? Where can we put our hope in that will not disappoint us or leave us hopeless.

First, we must admit we live in a disappointing world. Hope is a wish for something that is attached to a confident expectation that the wish will be fulfilled. The definition of hope: “Hope happens at the intersection of desire and expectation.” Hope always has a desire and the object of that desire.

Our hope becomes disappointed because it is placed in TEMPORAL things.

We load all of our personal motivation and meaning and purpose into the experience and relationship of this present world. We fail to recognize that God is using our present hardships to teach us that temporary nature will disappoint in this present world. God is calling us to put our hope in Him!

Our problem is often the object of our hope. We look for people, places, and things to be our own personal ‘messiah’ believing that they will give us peace, meaning, and hope. It is not wrong to hope, but if your hope is on temporal things, then I can guarantee you that in some time your hope in that object will disappoint and leave you hopeless.

Hope will ALWAYS disappoint unless it is attached to forever. 

The here and now is not forever.

Everything we do is somehow attached to some sort of hope. As we begin to realize that in this broken world we cannot look for reliable hope horizontally, we are at the edge of what we were designed to do … hope in God!

And as we begin to place our hope in God, we get connected to the promise of eternity where all that is broken will be fixed and made new again! As we do this, we look at a life in a radically new way.

If you are God’s child, you have hope because God is hope! Romans 8:1 says, “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”
Romans is one of my favorite books because of the promises we have and the hope in God! It is so easy to miss the point that if we are God’s child, there is never a moment when you are hopeless. If you are reconciled to God, you are connected to a hope that will extend forever.

So what is the hope you get up in the morning for? Or that gets you through the day? I hope your hope is Jesus Christ on the cross to forgive sinners. I just simply can’t picture and imagine what Jesus had to go through just so that I can have eternal life, such hope! I pray our focus can be more on Him then this temporary world that tries to deceive is in other objective “hope.”

“Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for each other, love one another deeply, from the heart. For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God.”1 Peter 1:22-23

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God[a]; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.” John 14:1-3

Hope in Him,
Marco Patz

Marco.JPG

