Good Things Take Time

“Good Things Take Time”
a devotional by Amanda Vonckx

Good things take time – would you agree?

The funny thing is, we live in a society where faster usually equals “better”. We are all about fast food, the ability to get somewhere the quickest way, and if there are shortcuts, we most definitely are taking them.

I fear that in the shuffle of our desire for instant satisfaction, we have lost the beauty of slowing down and enjoying moments. 

God has recently been showing me that a lot of good things in life require not only time, but patience, waiting, and slowing down.

A huge downfall for me has always been that I struggle with rushing and procrastination. I am usually the one in the family to be getting ready last minute before needing to go somewhere. When I was little, my grandma would pick me and my sisters up for school in the morning and I would always be the last one out the door. The struggle is that rushing almost always results in me being crabby towards others, self-centered, hurried, un-kind, and impatient.

But you know what God is showing me? HIS TIME IS NOT RUSHED.

When Jesus was here on earth, He focused on doing His Father’s will throughout His days instead of rushing from place to place.

I think of Luke 18 where we read about Jesus walking down the streets of Jericho.
On Jesus’ way through the town, a blind man on the side of the road yells out in desperation, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!”

Jesus could have easily continued on His way through the town, but He asks that the man would be brought to Him. The blind man than asks out of faith that Jesus would recover his sight, and because of the man’s faith his sight is recovered to him! How cool is that?! We see this example of Jesus so many times in Scripture that instead of rushing through life Jesus stops and attends to the needs of others. What a wonderful Savior we have, and can learn so much from His example!

In our minds – waiting or slowing down means WASTING time…but to God, waiting and slowing down is at the very core of how HE WORKS! 

Slowing down produces:

  1. Joy in the little things
  2. Being PRESENT and AWARE of how God is at work around you and through you
  3. Building true and authentic trust and community with others
  4. Patience – slowing down naturally helps our minds redirect from ourselves to others and how we can serve and love them

And so much more…

Instead of forcing things to go my way – God has shown me that His way is always so much better even if it takes more time. We all want instant friendships, we want to see our friends and family members who are not saved come to know Jesus, we want delicious home cooked meals at the snap of a finger…but the truth is good things take time.

My challenge to you:

  1. Prayerfully consider areas in your life that you can slow down in. Maybe you are like me and you struggle with trying to make things happen your way or want things to happen instantly instead of waiting on God’s timing.
  1. Identify your top priorities in life. Make a list- what are they? Do they align with God’s priorities?
  1. Prayerfully consider eliminating things in your life that take up time and make you feel rushed. Slow down and spend more time being still before God and investing in relationships that matter.

 

“My son/daughter – I have created you to live life abundantly through me. Rest in my embrace and trust that I have gone before you and have everything in control. Do not worry about tomorrow, for today has enough worries of it’s own. Rely on my strength today and slow down your thoughts and actions. Be PRESENT in the moments that you are in- and flee from your desire to “capture” every moment just so that you can share it with the world. Live for me right now in this moment. Take a deep breath and recognize the air in your lungs. A living, breathing, loving individual that I have created in my image. Rest in me son/daughter. I have created you for greatness – and I desire to use you today. Trust me – and I will lead you upon my path. – Your loving Father”

“Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him, and He will act!”  Psalm 37:5 

“The steps of a man are established by the Lord when he delights in His way; though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong for the Lord upholds his hand.” Psalm 37:23-24 

In Him,
Amanda Vonckx

amanda bio

Leave a Reply

