God Gives Rest

God Gives Rest
a devotional by Sarah Lyle

Hebrews 4:9-11:
“There remains, then, a Sabbath-rest for the people of God; for anyone who enters God’s rest also rests from their works, just as God did from His. Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one will perish by following their example of disobedience.”

 Psalm 23:
“The Lord is my Shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters, He refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely Your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

In our lives, there are many activities that we can fill our days with.

Be it athletics, homework, video games, or friends, I commonly find I have no time to just sit down. My mind recalls the picture of Sponz juggling multiple balls and adding more and more until a ball drops from his hands. If each of these balls represents a part of my life, can you guess which one I frequently drop?

God.

I tell myself that He can wait, and that there will always be time later. He already loves me. There are other really important things to do. He will forgive me. This is what I think during those times that I let the God-ball drop. The problem is, by not choosing to take a breath and rest in Him, it becomes much harder to accomplish everything else! It’s like choosing to go throughout the day without eating. Without your energy, your body just can’t handle the workload as well.

Exodus 33:14 “The Lord replied, ‘My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.’

You see, we work at our best when we recover through the Lord. Just as God rested, so should we! And rest doesn’t just mean sit down for a while, or get enough sleep. Everyone needs spiritual rest, or to rest in God.
This means to take time every day to slow down and be with the Father. Build your relationship with Him, talk to Him and listen to what He has to say. Be open to the Holy Spirit and its guidance throughout the day.

When you rest in God, you are better equipped to take on each day. Your soul is replenished, and your spirit is fed. When you rest in God, you draw from His strength and shine more brightly. By getting your spiritual rest, you become more like Christ, and all of your other activities throughout the day can be done with a lighter heart.

Pause for a second and listen to Audrey Assad’s song “Restless”:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UuhYZrn4flo

 

Every time this song comes on the radio, it gets me thinking about my day. How am I feeling? I usually find that my feelings correspond to how much of God’s love I have experienced that day. Think about how you go about each day. Are you restless without God? Are you drawing closer to Him and gaining peace, or drifting farther away?

Have you gotten your spiritual beauty sleep?

In Him,
Sarah Lyle

Sarah Lyle bio picture

Leave a Reply

