Live for the Line, Not for the Dot

“Live for the Line, Not for the Dot”
A devotional by Megan Grider

What do you consider your eternal perspective to be?

Imagine a line that went on forever, had no beginning and no end. Now draw a very small dot on the middle of this never-ending line. In contrast to the line, this dot seems like almost nothing. This dot is our life in contrast to God’s everlasting plan. What we must do is “Live for the Line, Not for the Dot.”

I had heard this analogy a few times before it actually “hit” me. Yes, I knew that my life was just a small speck in God’s plan, and this was all I thought about the first few times I heard this comparison of the dot to the line. It wasn’t until I realized that this analogy meant that I actually needed to DO something until I could start to grasp what it meant. This analogy is not meant to make you think that everything you do doesn’t matter because we are just a small dot, it calls you to do the opposite actually. Everything before our life, during our life, and after our life is part of God’s plan.

Let’s look at Ephesians 3:10-12:

“His intent was that now, through the church, the manifold wisdom of God should be made known to the rulers and authorities in the heavenly realms, according to this eternal purpose which he accomplished in Christ Jesus our Lord. In Him and through faith in Him we may approach God with freedom and confidence.”

This verse talks about God’s eternal purpose which we are capable of being a part of only because of Christ dying on the cross for us. This sacrifice is the only way which we can have a relationship with God. As this verse says, we also can be confident when we approach the Lord. Being part of God’s eternal plan can look a little different in each person’s life. The biggest change I saw in my life after starting to understand an eternal perspective was the way I approached sharing the Gospel.

One of the greatest joys of being a Christian is having the duty of sharing the Gospel with people I love, and also people who I do not know at all. Sharing on campus the past semester always came with some fear at the beginning, being worried what people would think of me or that they wouldn’t want to listen were some common thoughts. However, when I put sharing in an eternal perspective, I realize that I am only a vessel for God and I do not have to be fearful sharing. If I am truly living for the line, I am not worried about what people think about me because I am furthering the Kingdom of God, not my own flesh.

Take some time today to pray that the Lord would give you an eternal perspective, and that in everything you do you are doing it for the benefit of the line, not the dot.

In Christ,
Megan Grider

megan bio

Leave a Reply

