Save Me From Myself
a devotional by Olivia Wilson

Is grace something we only get once? Or is it something that we continually need?

Before getting into grace, I have to talk about sin. My sin to be exact.

I know I am a sinner and I know I’m saved by grace. I just have a hard time remembering what I’ve been saved from on a daily basis. I need God’s grace and forgiveness every day.

I am the biggest obstacle between myself and a lasting and meaningful relationship with God.

Sin isn’t just something that affects the world around me, it hits far closer to home. It resides in me as well. I am a sinner and I’m in need of God’s mercy that is new every morning.

Lamentations 3:22-24 “The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.””

I always thought that the older I got, the less I would have to work and the less sin I would have in my life. But I think it’s just the opposite. The older I get and the more I learn about God and myself, the more I see His goodness, faithfulness, and the extent of the grace that He provides for me daily, and the more I also see the deep, deep need of that grace I actually have.

This hasn’t been an easy lesson to learn and by no means have I even completely wrapped my mind around the extent of my need for Jesus and the Holy Spirit’s continued work in my life. I am aware, however, that I need to surrender my life and pick up my cross daily, to serve and obey the One who has rescued me from being eternally separated from my Creator and the Lover of my soul.

There won’t be a time on this earth that I should ever think that I have arrived. I need to always seek God with all that I am. He is the only one who can save me from myself.

And He is waiting for you too.

So what are we going to do? Are we going to forget what God has done for us and embrace a life living for ourselves and our fleshly desires? Or even know the grace that we have been given and use that as an excuse to sin? Or are we going to wake up each morning seeing who we are and our deep need for Christ and living a life in light of His amazing grace a mercy that is new every morning?

In Him,
Olivia Wilson
Olivia W bio

