God’s Got This

God’s Got This
a devotional by Jon Vajko

Last semester, I learned about how vast God’s love is for every single person. Through seeing how vast God’s love was, I was able to love my fiancé, Carrie, unconditionally and not for selfish reasons. While it was difficult sometimes because of distance, I had to rely that God would help both Carrie and I to continue to love each other no matter what occurred.

This semester, I’m really learning about fully relying on God. With college, Cru, and marriage coming up, I have to juggle quite a few things and have to rely on God that everything will go according to His plan and not my own.

I was reading an article the other day about keeping a marriage alive, and it said “Familiarity breeds contempt”. This really stuck in my head and couldn’t get it out for some reason.

This is why it stuck: I have been going to MTU for about 6 semesters now. I have gotten really familiar with going to class, studying, and doing homework.

I would get set in my routine.

God has really been teaching me that I need to get out of my contempt-ness and living and relying on Him on a moment-by-moment basis.

I love how CS Lewis puts it:
“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing has yet been done.”

To fully rely on God, we need do quite a few things that would ultimately glorify God such as faith, love, compassion, and so on.

I’m going to talk about things that are typically over looked: not being anxious and trusting in God.

Don’t be anxious

Look up Luke 12:22-28 and read the words that Jesus is saying to the crowd.

I absolutely love how blunt Jesus can be. He simply says don’t be anxious about our lives and if you are anxious, you have little faith. It’s one of those things that it’s easily said rather than done.

We live in society that is continually on the run. We are continually worried about where we need to be or what we need to do next. We have our Google calendars that say where we need to be next and what is going to happen.

When was the last time that you just stopped what you were doing and enjoyed the moment?

I remember when I was a little freshman at Michigan Tech, I was walking from Fisher to the DOW to go to work. I decided to cut through Rheki because I would be inside longer therefore I would be warmer longer. When I was walking along the path from Rheki to the DOW, I ran into Corbin (not many of you probably know Corbin but he is legit).
Every conversation I had with the guy was about God and how great He was.
Anyway, Corbin was just standing on the path and staring across campus. I asked Corbin what he was doing because I was slightly perplexed about his abnormal behavior. He simply said, “I’m admiring God’s creation.” I walked away slightly more perplexed and was wondering what an odd thing to do.
Now, as I’m much older and wiser, I realize that Corbin was enjoying and admiring the moment with God as his Lord and King. That’s what it’s all about, remembering who belongs on the throne and resting in that.

Look up Philippians 4:6

Why should we not be anxious? Because God’s got this.

When we bring our needs to the Lord through prayer, He is faithful and just to answer our prayers. However, we shouldn’t have a checklist of things for God to give us. We need to be thankful for all the things that we already have! When we count our blessings and name them one by one, we realize that we already have everything we need and asking God for some materialistic item seems silly.

Trusting in God

Look up Jeremiah 17:5-8

When we look at these four verses, we can obviously see the difference between people who trust on their own strength versus people who trust in God.

The people who trust on their own strength will ultimately have barrenness while the other receives blessings. Once again, the Bible is straight forward. When you are trusting your own strength, then you will be cursed. This is because we are not living according to God’s Word. This is a sin of omission or the sin of not doing something that we are supposed to do.

However, (much like the rest of the Bible), God gives us the positive news right away.

When we trust in the Lord, we are blessed. If you look closely at what verse 8, it says, you can see that we are compared to a fruit tree. Also, another thing that’s pretty cool is that we don’t have to be fearful when it comes to “drought” in our lives.

When a Christ follower is in a drought, it means that we are in a time of trial. So because we have our roots deep into the ground, we are able to stand firm when times of trials occur. This means, when we are deeply rooted into Christ Jesus, we will be able to stand firm because of the strength that He gives us.

I don’t know about you but when I’m not trusting in God and relying in Him fully, that’s when I’m more likely to fall into temptation or to worship my “idols”. When I’m not relying on God, I find that I worry about getting good grades so that I can get that magical 3.0 that companies want. I’m going to be honest with you guys, I have a 2.58 cumulative GPA. I’m not proud of it but that comes from trying to do everything through my own strength and efforts. I also find that my relationships become more difficult from friends to family and even to my fiancé. I could go on and on of how God is able to keep everything together when we rely on Him but I think you guys get the point.

Just like it says in Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”.

There are three ways you could take this:

  1. Not listen to me and not rely on God in every single moment and therefore relying on your own strength.
  1. Listen to me yet sit around waiting for God to act in your life.

(Look up James 2:14-26)

Faith without deeds is dead. It’s great that you have accepted Christ into your life and have Him as your Lord and Savior. But where’s the proof?

When need to be active Christians, not lazy Christians.
This leads us right into the next point, if you

  1. Listen to what God has to say and act in accordance to God’s Word, you will produce.

Look up Galatians 5:19-24

When we are living according to our flesh, the works of the flesh are evident. Once again, it’s put bluntly for our convenience; we do bad things, we don’t inherit the kingdom of God. However, (once again pairing the bad thing with the good thing), if we live according to God’s Word and have faith in Christ, we possess the Spirit of God.

The Spirit then produces the fruit of the Spirit which are commanded of believers throughout the New Testament. We no longer want the desires of the flesh because they have been crucified on the cross with Jesus!! Can I get an amen?

Do you remember how in Jeremiah it compared those trusting in God to a fruit tree? This is why! God calls us to bear fruit. This is also in accordance to his Word and frankly shows others Christ and what He stands for. Oddly enough, we do these things best by relying in God.

No matter where were at in life, it’s always going to be easier to rely on your own strength rather than on the strength that God brings. But when we place our complete trust and reliance in Christ, blessings will begin to pour out and we’ll be shaped more into the image of Christ.

Trust in Him,
Jonathan Vajko

jon bio

Leave a Reply

