“Captured Hearts”
by Amanda Vonckx

Do you remember the first time God captured your heart in awe or wonder? For me it was even before I knew how much God loved me. As a child I would sit on my porch listening to the wind glide across the sweet cherry blossom tree in our front yard. Even when it was chilly outside I always insisted to be near a window. I am now 24 years old, and some things never change.

It was a beautiful but chilly spring day. The sun was high in the sky, snow covered the ground in patches, and I found myself wandering away from the crowd to find some peace and quiet. The spot I chose to sit was on an old dock on a sandy beach overlooking the half-frozen lake. As I stared out at God’s creation I read these words from Psalm 1:

Oh, the joys of those who do not
follow the advice of the wicked,
or stand around with sinners,
or join in with mockers.
But they delight in the law of the Lord,
meditating on it day and night.
They are like trees planted along the riverbank,
bearing fruit each season.
Their leaves never wither,
and they prosper in all they do.

As these words spoke to my heart, so did the Creator of the Universe.

So my question is, how has and how is God capturing your heart lately? Is it in His Word, nature, people, experiences, smells? How about worship music, praying together, having coffee with a friend, spending time in silence?

However the Lord captures your heart, remember to always cherish those moments, drinking in His love deeply and experiencing freedom in grace and truth.

amanda bio

 

