Belonging to God

“Belonging to God”
by Mackenzie Johnson

“For if we live, we live to the Lord; and if we die, we die to the Lord. Therefore, whether we live or die we are the Lord’s.” -Romans 14:8

We are not our own.

What does this mean? It means that everything that we are belongs to God.
Why? God is our Creator. In fact, He is the Creator.

Psalm 139:13-16 talks about how God formed us and saw who we were going to become before we were even in existence. The fact that the God of the universe made each and every one of us special and unique should give us the full motivation we need to serve Him and live for Him.

Let me illustrate it for you this way: I have a giant ball of clay and a garden filled with seeds out in front of me. I need to make materials out of this clay so that my garden can grow. Once I create these materials they will be able to move on their own, without my help. I create a watering can so that it will be able to water my garden. I create a shovel so that it can dig up weeds. And lastly, I create a hoe so that it can distribute soil evenly throughout my garden.

Once I create all of my materials, I wait for them to serve their purpose, but they all just sit there and stare at me. I say, “Come on! You can do this, I created you to help my garden grow. Why aren’t you fulfilling that? You know what to do. Come to me and I will use you.” The materials then wander off to do their own thing. I watch them as they struggle with their identity, and they compare themselves to each other and start complaining and ask me why I made them the way I did. But if only they just did something for my garden, then they would truly know the unique and special purpose each of them served…

Sometimes this is the way we treat God.

Creator = God

Garden = World

Tools = Us (Christians)

God created each and every one of us so that we are able to come to Him and serve a purpose for His kingdom. Whether we choose to come to Him or not is completely up to us, but oh, how He longs for us to be His…He made us to be His. God doesn’t need us, but He chose to want us. All of us have a different purpose, and the reason this world is messed up is because we don’t look to God for that purpose, and instead we compare ourselves to one another.

So I don’t know about you, but if the God of the universe created me to do something specific for Him, I want to do it! If we look around at other things, it becomes a lot more difficult to run in the direction of Christ. But if we fix our eyes on God, it’s easy to run to Him, find our purpose and live that purpose out.

Mackenzie Johnson

mackenzie-j

Leave a Reply

