this+that = Satisfaction?
a devotional by Kaylin Kaminski

A few months ago I was down stairs at my parents’ house going through a box of treasures that belonged to me as a child. To some, this box of treasure would be classified as “junk” that was not even worthy of a trip to Goodwill, but to me this was like precious artifacts that belonged in a museum. Well, not exactly, but it was still fun to look at. In this box were things such as my old, elementary school journal where I documented every day of an entire summer (yep, I was that kid.) There was also a stack of old drawings, a handful of graded school work, and an old report card. On the inside of that report card, was a straight line of the letter “S” written multiple times next to the criterion that was expected of me; the “S” indicated “satisfactory”.

At the age of 5, my teacher was satisfied in my ability to spell my own name, follow instructions, and demonstrate the understanding of the fundamentals of my ability to learn.  As I sat there looking at the seemingly worthless piece of paper, I started to reflect on that sought after performance approval. How fleeting that mark was.

As the years went on, my performance had to continue to increase in order to remain satisfactory to my teachers, because somewhere between my first day of school and my last day of college, writing your first name was no longer impressive. I could say the same about my personal life as my academic life—satisfaction was a fleeting concept.
Once I am in middle school, I will be satisfied. Once I am in high school, I will be satisfied. When I make the basketball team, when I go to college,  when I graduate, when I get a boyfriend, when I have a new car, when I have a fiancé, when I get a job, when I have husband, when I get a promotion… I will be satisfied.

SPOILER ALERT: As long as we keep turning to earthly things, we will NEVER be satisfied.

Unlike the commercial promises, lasting satisfaction does not come from a Snicker bar that only leaves you hungry after 20 minutes of consumption. It does not come from the new Nike’s  that promise to make you run faster and jump higher, but in reality will provide no additional athletic ability and only leave you with dirty shoes after just 3 days.  Satisfaction does not come from feeling accepted by your peers, making the winning shot, scoring the winning goal, or earning first chair for the flute.  It does not come from a new school, a new job, or a new car. We continually think that earthly possessions or the next stage of life will bring us lasting satisfaction only to find out that when we obtain our desired possessions and achieve our next step in life, we will never truly be content with these things.

And still, we all search for satisfaction.

So praise the Lord that he does not leave us with desires that can never be fulfilled, but instead freely gave us the only One that can truly fulfil a human heart– his Son. Jesus Christ is our sole satisfier. He longs to be our truest friend, our dearest pursuer, our only love, our deepest desire, our never -ending, all-consuming source of complete and utter satisfaction.

Bible Verses to study:

13 Jesus said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again.[a] The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”  John 4:13-14 ESV

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
    my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
    as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
    beholding your power and glory.
Because your steadfast love is better than life,
    my lips will praise you.
So I will bless you as long as I live;
    in your name I will lift up my hands.

My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
    and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips. Psalm 63-1-5

You open your hand;
    you satisfy the desire of every living thing. Psalm 145:16

And the Lord will guide you continually
    and satisfy your desire in scorched places
    and make your bones strong;
and you shall be like a watered garden,
    like a spring of water,
    whose waters do not fail. Isaiah 58:11

Reflection Questions to answer:

*What are you trying to find satisfaction in?

*Do you truly believe that Jesus can satisfy you better than things of this earth? If yes, how are you demonstrating that in your life?

*What does John 4:13-14 mean to you?

*In what ways, can you seek Jesus to satisfy your heart’s desires?

 

As I closed the box that day, I realized that I don’t want to look back on my life like an old report card full of temporary satisfactory marks, but I want to instead look back on life that was permanently satisfied in Jesus Christ.

In Christ,
Kaylin Kaminski

12105691_10156153474940472_5712618846633339722_n

