No Prayer, No Peace

“No Prayer, No Peace”
a devotional by Jessica Cross

            Prayer is such an important part of our life. We tend to forget how powerful prayer is. Prayer is how we communicate with God and we need to constantly be talking to Him. I find that when I go a day without prayer I lose peace. I lose sight of what really matters and I am stressed out over the little things. My stress builds up and makes my problems seem larger than they actually are. Once I spend time in the Bible and take time to pray, I have enough time to get everything done. I have peace in my life. When I focus on God and put Him first in my life, everything else falls right into place.

In 1 Peter 4:7 tells us to “cast all our anxiety on God, because He cares for us.” We have no need to worry, because we can give it all to God. This is something that we tend to forget. We are so focused and overwhelmed with the situation we are in, that we do not take the time to give it to God. We cling to it and our anxiety increases and it results in a breakdown. Not until then do we see that we need to talk to God and give all of our worries and stress to Him. Once we do that, we have a comforting peace. We are no longer overwhelmed with stress, we are overwhelmed with His love and mercy.

I am currently in my second year of college, and I have a lot of upcoming projects, presentations, and papers. I have been so overwhelmed with the amount of schoolwork that I have lost my way. I have been so focused on getting my homework done and making sure that I am doing well enough to get good grades that I have not been taking time out of my day to spend it with God. We need to spend time with God every single day. And that is something I have lost sight of. Once I realized that I was focusing on my worries more than I was focusing on God, I knew that I had to change something in my life. I had to reprioritize my life. I made sure that I put God first each day and that I was spending time with Him. Each morning, I make sure I spend time praying and reading in my Bible. It helps to give me a calming peace throughout my day and I am not easily freaked out by my large amounts of schoolwork. Each night before bed, my roommate and I take the time and pray together.

I have spent a lot of time reading verses about prayer. I think that it is an essential part of our daily life. These few verses that I am about to share have really helped me in focusing on God.

Proverbs 15:8b, “but the prayer of the upright is acceptable to Him.”

Mark 11:24, “Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

Romans 12:12, “Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.”

1 John 5:14, “And this is the confidence that we have toward Him, that if we ask anything according to His will He hears us.”

God hears us when we talk to Him. Many people are afraid to pray, or to pray aloud because of how they might look or sound. They are afraid that they do not pray right. There is no right or wrong way to pray. Prayer is talking to God. When I am counseling at camp, I often remind my campers of that. I tell them that God is their heavenly Father and they can talk to Him about anything. We are able to have a conversation with God through prayer. We can talk to Him just like we talk to a family member or friend. God is our Father and friend. Prayer is such a powerful thing. We are able to build and grow our relationship with God through prayer.

It is my hope and prayer that you put God first in your life. I am praying that you continue to build your relationship with God and grow closer to Him daily. I pray that you realize how powerful prayer is and go to God in every situation.

In Christ, Jessica

Jessica-NoCopyright-33

Leave a Reply

