“Your Head and Your Heart”
a devotional by Dave Sponholz

The human mind is an amazing thing!  It encodes millions (if not billions) of memories throughout our lifetime and is more complex than any computer out there.  It solves problems and helps you to make plans.

The human heart is equally amazing from a biological standpoint, but for today we’re going to reference the heart as the emotional epicenter.  Joy, desire, worry, love, and peace reside here.

As I was studying through the book of Colossians, there was something unique that God revealed to me.  Colossians 3 starts out by saying:

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.  Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.  For you died and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.”

The Holy Spirit started prompting me to think as I read.  The command says to set heart and my mind on things above, not on earthly things.  Here is the process I went through next:

What my heart is responsible for:  Feelings, Emotions, Affections, etc.

Earthly things related to this:  That I deserve to be happy, that others should serve me, that my well-being is of major importance.

What my mind is responsible for:  Intellect, Decision-making, Logic, etc

Earthly things related to this:  Job/career decisions, Salary and the pursuit of money, Budgets, etc

Then the kicker came to me when I read Colossians 3 verse 5.  It says to “put to death whatever belongs to your sinful nature”…WHICH INCLUDES the things above!

So I started thinking about how it would look if I put to death the earthly things of my mind and heart, and started to focus on heavenly things instead.  In theory, when you do this, the following things should be bench markers:

  1. You realize that you are not entitled to health, wealth and the pursuit of happiness. You deserve punishment for your sin…and the grace of God through the sacrifice of Christ means that you GET to work FOR God as a way of saying thank you!
  2. You can look to God for your approval, instead of to your boss or your family or your accomplishments or a relationship with someone.
  3. You begin to see that God works out everything in a believer’s life for YOUR good and for HIS glory. Even if it is frustrating or difficult at the time.  And this leads to contentment and peace within the trial.

Following Christ is never easier, but it is ALWAYS BETTER.  He will satisfy, and He will give you the joy and contentment that nothing in this world will give.

He is worth it!

-Sponz

IMG_1380

