“I’m glad God’s in control”
a devotional by Claire Goyak

Just recently, I was in a minor car accident that caused me to lose control of my car and do two, 360-spins.  I was driving to church one Sunday morning, when all of a sudden, my jeep started to fishtail.  The weather had been awful the whole weekend, so driving conditions were not excellent.  Naturally, I tried to break just enough to gain more control, but it was then I realized that the accelerator and break were locked, prohibiting me from even being able to break and slow down.  After about 5 seconds of fishtailing, my jeep lost control, and it put me in a spinning motion on the highway, causing me to completely spin around two times.

After coming to a stop on the opposite side of the road, I tried to gain my composure to at least pull away from the shoulder.  I was finally able to unlock my accelerator, and I continued my journey to church, a little shaken of the severity of what just happened.

A few days prior to the accident, I was reading in Romans 14, more specifically, verses 5-9.

      5One person esteems one day as better than another, while another esteems all days alike.  Each one should be fully convinced inn his own mind.  6The one who observes the day, observes it in honor of the Lord.  The one who eats, eats in honor of the Lord, since he gives thanks to God, while the one who abstains, abstains in honor of the Lord and gives thanks to God.  7For none of us lives to himself, and none of us dies to himself.  8For if we live, we live to the Lord, and if we die, we die to the Lord.  So then, whether we live or whether we die, we are the Lord’s.  9For to this end Christ died and lived again, that he might be Lord both of the dead and of the living.

This passage immediately raced in my mind as I continued to drive.  If we have become children of God, we are called to honor the Lord and give thanks to Him, in every circumstance.  We are called to do this because we aren’t living for ourselves; our lives are not our own.  We aren’t to live for ourselves, but rather for the God who made us, who even died for us.  As the passage notes, whether in life or death, “we are the Lord’s.”

When I first read this passage, I was convicted of how much I have been seeking control in my own life, rather than giving and surrendering complete control to God.  I have had a hard time being content in where the Lord has me currently in life, because I want to tweak my circumstances just a little bit, or make things go my way.  However, God has gripped my heart of how much I have not been giving Him the reign of my life.  The accident was such a humbling moment for me, because I knew that God chose to give me a wake-up call, while still choosing to physically protect me.  It was a good reminder that my life is not my own, and although I want control over my life, He is my God, and He knows what is the absolute best for me.  He had complete control over the car situation; even in the midst when I couldn’t gain control of the car, He was sovereign over the circumstance.  Not only did I not hit anything or anyone in the accident, but I was also going only 45 mph (which if I was going any faster, the situation probably would have been worse).  I am so thankful for God’s hand of protection that day.

God sent His perfect Son to earth so that He could live here, die a brutal death to save us from our sins, and be raised to life to so that we could have eternal life with Him.  We have a God who loves us, who wants us in His family, but who also wants to be God of our lives.

May we let Him reign in our hearts and our lives, and may we surrender our plans and our desires completely to Him.

Claire Goyak

claire-g

