We Live to Worship!

“We Live to Worship!”
a devotional by Kelly Blum

We are called to worship. God wants our worship. He loves our worship. He commands our worship.

Matthew 22:37-39:
And He said to him, “ ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the great and foremost commandment. The second is like it, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’

You can worship through prayer, reading the Bible, singing songs…but you can also worship through a positive attitude at school or work, saying an encouraging word to the waitress or cashier, inviting a friend over that you know has been lonely…anything and everything we do with a sincere heart and in obedience to God is worship.

Matthew 25:40:
“The King will answer and say to them, ‘Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to Me.’

Those of you who know me may be aware that I absolutely LOVE worshipping God through music. It is definitely one of my favorite ways to bring Him praise. Whether I’m singing in my car, learning cello, performing with the band, teaching violin, participating in a praise team at church…all different types of music in all different situations… if I do it to the best of my ability and for the glory of Him, it is worship.

A while back our pastor of worship ministries was giving the sermon at church. He was discussing Nehemiah 12 and the worship that came so freely from the people after God blessed them with ability to finish rebuilding the wall of Jerusalem.

Nehemiah 12:43:
And on that day they offered great sacrifices, rejoicing because God had given them great joy. The women and children also rejoiced. The sound of rejoicing in Jerusalem could be heard far away.

One statement the pastor made REALLY convicted me. He asked how many of us had ever left after church (our own church or one we were visiting) and said we didn’t really like the service because we didn’t enjoy the music or didn’t know the songs. Right away I thought, “I’ve DEFINITELY done that! There are so many Sundays where I thought they should’ve played more familiar songs, a different style of songs, had more talented music leaders on stage…”

His next comment completely stopped my line of thought. He said something similar to, “That’s like going to your friend’s birthday party and watching them open and cherish all of their presents. Then you come home and say you didn’t have a good time because you didn’t like any of the gifts that your friend got. It’s ridiculous! The presents were for your friend, not you! And your reason for being at the party was to celebrate the person, not to enjoy their gifts!”

Thoughts were sent reeling through my mind. “Wow. All of those specific churches and people that were running through my head just a few seconds ago…I was judging the precious gifts that they were giving to their Lord and Savior. How dare I? Those songs weren’t meant for me and my enjoyment. They were a gift to God from His beloved children. If the people were sincere in their offering, He LOVED it.”

This same concept can be applied to any act of worship, not just music. How often do we look at someone sharing in time or resources and we think that they aren’t giving much? Or see someone bestowing encouraging words and we say it just seemed awkward? Or hear someone saying a prayer and think to ourselves that we could have done better? Their worship is for God alone, and we have no right to judge.

Galatians 1:10- 
For am I now seeking the favor of men, or of God? Or am I striving to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a bond-servant of Christ.

I encourage you to think about your life. Is all of your life worship to God? Are there areas you need to change? When others around you are living a life to worship God, are you judging them? Are you looking down on their offerings? Our worship is a gift we freely give to God. And He loves our gifts. May we give joyfully and have joy as we see others give as well!

Kelly Blum

kelly-b

Leave a Reply

