“Depth That Moves”
by Jersey Hoffner

God won my heart years ago because He met me where I was at.

He hurt for what hurt me, and He loved even more.

He saw me.

The world tells us today that we shouldn’t feel deeply, that 24/7 happiness is attractive, and to act and be perfect the only emotions you can have must be “positive” ones.

The problem with that is that Jesus felt all things.
He felt hard things and happy things.

The great thing about the way He felt so deeply, was what He did because of it.

Jesus had compassion. (Mathew 9:36)
Jesus wept. (John 11:35)
Jesus was angry. (Mark 10:13-16)
Jesus felt distress. (Mark 3:5)
Jesus had zeal. (John 2:17)
Jesus was deeply moved. (John 11:33)
Jesus was at peace. (John 16:33)
Jesus was full of joy. (John 15:11)
Jesus was and had the strength of God.

He has always felt everything I have felt, He has always been strong, He has always cared. He gives me peace, but allows me to feel. Something I am learning today is that emotions aren’t negative or positive, because they are all from the Lord. It is what I do with them that makes them bad or good.

Jesus embodied emotion, He brought joy, but He also brought a sword. Through it all the peace of the Lord was His, and it is ours today.

As I struggle with fundraising for missions, living in Madison, and just being a human being in a broken world, I have thought about Christ and how I want to imitate Him.

I want to be someone who feels deeply, who loves endlessly, and who feels the pain and suffering of those around me… and yet is always thankful, like He was.

When I was in Zambia I saw a broken people that freely cried, freely loved, freely grieved, and who freely took hold of the things God told them were theirs. His peace, His love, His joy, His patience, and His truth. They took hold of their salvation and they expressed it fully and unhindered. This freedom in Christ moves them to minister in love and truth in ways I had never seen anyone minister before. They give their life up freely for those around them. To act in love and strength with every emotion they feel. They embodied Jesus in ways I haven’t always been able to myself. I want to do that with my life. I want to do it for others, I want to do it for myself, and I want to do that for Him.

How can I live a life of depth with every emotion, in such a way that it moves me to action and reflects Christ? I look to Jesus. The founder and perfecter of my faith. My cornerstone. The one who moved and felt so wildly, He died on the cross to give me a life of freedom in Him today.

How will you respond to what God has given you?

Isaiah 61: 1-3
 “The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me; because the Lord hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all that mourn; To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified”

Jersey
