The Heart of Man Reflects the Man

“The Heart of Man Reflects the Man”
a devotional by Jason Brahan

While thinking over all of the activities that I’m involved in, I just recently realized that I suffer from a poor competitive attitude and perfectionism.

When playing in athletic events or during academic tests, I never feel satisfied with how I perform.

I can be playing a great tennis match and miss one shot and suddenly be upset at myself for making a mistake.

I could score a 90% on a test and not be happy, because a 95% would be better, and should I get a 95% or 100%.

In the book of James chapter 1 verse 2 it says to “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds”.

Notice James doesn’t say “complain because things can be better than they are now”.
In fact, later in verse 12 he even says “Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial”.

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines steadfast as firmly fixed in place or in belief, and that belief we are to be fixed in is the joy of the Lord even in the face of trials.

Now you may be wondering what a poor attitude has to do with the spiritual.
The answer is found in Proverbs 27:19 As in water, face reflects face, so the heart of man reflects the man”.

I realized that my attitude was more than physical. It was a heart problem.

Heart problems are far trickier than physical ones because there is nothing we can do except pray to God. He’s the One who can change hearts.

Proverbs 21:1 The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord; He turns it wherever He will”.

When the temptation to complain or be unhappy comes upon me, I turn first to the Lord in prayer.

In my struggle with a lousy attitude and perfectionism, it was only God who has been able to give victory.

It takes only a single drop of human flesh and mindset to slip back into an old habit of any kind and especially with attitudes. However, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13) and you can too!

Jason Brahan
Jason Brahan.png

Leave a Reply

