“The World’s Applause”
a devotional by Ethan Tahtinen

 

Have you ever caught yourself trying to please others?
Have you ever felt down or hurt from trying to gain someone’s acceptance?
Have you ever bought a bunch of things just to “have it all” or look cool?

I like to buy the newest technology, newest video games, newest movies, and newest systems because…..I want them.
I don’t need them, I just want them.

In Matthew 16:26 it says “For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? Or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?”

I am a Christian so I should not be “of the world” anymore. So why am I trying to gain all this stuff? I’m just going to lose myself in it.
This stuff will become my god. I will lose focus of God if I’m drowning in stuff.

One of my struggles that I deal a lot with is the acceptance of people.
I try to do things to please other people, to make them like me more.
I try to “be of this world”…But that is not what God wants us to do.

As it says in 1 John 2:15 “Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.”

We are not to become part of this world, we are to change it.

In Romans 12:2 God says, “Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

What matters in life is God. We are here because of Him. And for Him.
We are here to serve Him and to worship Him.

The acceptance we need to be looking for is His, but He has already accepted us.

So now we don’t have to worry about being accepted by anyone anymore. We have Christ and He is all we need!

Ethan Tahtinen

ethan tahtinen bio pict

