Praying About the Little Things

“Praying About the Little Things”
by Emily Schuessler

I’ve never been good at asking for anything that I don’t deem as a necessity.

When I run out of shampoo, rather than asking for my Mom to pick some up for me next time she is at the store, I buy it myself.
I’m not digging for coins in between the couch cushions, by any means, so I feel like I shouldn’t ask for anything from anyone.

I recently realized that I do the same thing with God….

Just last week I stayed up until almost 2am working on homework, and the next morning I had to wake up at 6am to get to an 8am class which I have to commute to.
I go to school Tuesday’s and Thursday’s from 8am-5:15pm, so operating on 4 hours of sleep is impossible to do without daydreaming (or coffee, which I don’t drink).
I’ve gone to school before with a lack of sleep, but I don’t retain information as well, take good notes, and I’m not nearly as alert.
I knew I could trudge through, but I decided to ask God for a small request: to keep me alert and I prayed that I wouldn’t get a headache (which I normally do when I have a lack of sleep).

I went to school like normal, when halfway through the day when I realized how great I felt. I thanked God for answering my silly little prayer request and finished my day feeling well and refreshed.

Looking back at this day, I understand that God was trying to teach me something.

My prayer wasn’t small or silly.

Yes, there are “larger” problems in the world, but that doesn’t mean that God doesn’t still care about you!

God will not neglect us and our “silly” requests.
Christ won’t even neglect the sparrows.

Matthew 6:26 says, “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?”.

We must not undermine God’s capacity to love everyone and everything He created at the same time. No valley is too low and no mountain is too high for God to reach!

He is with us always, and He is working with us, not against us. Matthew 7:7-8 says, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened”.

Mark 11:24 says, “Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours”.

Emily Schuessler

emily sch.jpg

Leave a Reply

