“Walking Down a Dark Path”
a devotional by Josh Christensen

Do you ever feel like life couldn’t get any worse, and then it does? Like every choice you make leads to disaster?
I’m not necessarily talking only about your life, this could be the life of a family member or a close friend who you see is going down a dark path.
So many questions run through your head during these times, but I think two major questions are asked in these times of darkness; how did everything come to this?  And where is God?

The first question all comes down to choices.

Paul sums this question up perfectly in Romans 7:15-19, 15 I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16 And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17 As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18 For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing.”

As Paul very clearly puts it, it is our sinful nature that causes us to make these rash decisions.  We alone cannot do the good that we want to do because the good does not dwell in us.  When sin takes over our lives, we end up in an endless cycle of doing what we do not want to do.

The answer to the second question is this:
God is omnipresent, which means He is everywhere all at once!

But our answer is usually this:
“Except He isn’t always with you…..right? Because if God was with you then you wouldn’t have all of this pain and suffering?  If God was with you, your life would be way better and all of these bad things wouldn’t happen right?”  <<- Wrong!!!

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9.

He is right next to you.  He is in front of you.  He is behind you.  He is all around you even when you think He is nowhere near you.

The better question to ask is where is your faith in God?

All in all, we need God in every choice we make.  Good or bad, no matter what happens in life, all of what we say and do should point directly to the good and holy God.  So call upon Him every day.  Draw closer to your heavenly Father and you will see that God has always been with you.

Josh Christensen

Joshua Christen

