But, what if…?

“But, what if…?
a devotional by Deanna Yashinsky

What if I thought I could handle working those extra hours, but I can’t?
What if something happens to my family while I’m away?
What if I mess up on that presentation?
What if I can’t do it?

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” ~ Matthew 6:34

Recently, I was listening to the the song “I Won’t Let You Go” by Switchfoot, and the lyrics about trusting in God and His presence were really sinking in.
Specifically, the lines “If you could learn to trust me somehow, I swear that I won’t let you go”.

Often times, I can worry about trivial things or things that I can’t even change and they’ll keep me up at night. But, as I was reminded by this song, God is with us in every trial that we face, and says that we do not need to worry about anything.

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all that he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” ~ Philippians 4:6-7

Did you catch that? “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything”.

Prayer is powerful and should not be taken for granted.

When you get worried, do you pray?

I know it took me a long time to to figure that out, for that to be my immediate reaction when I start to worry. I remind myself of His power by replacing those negative thoughts and what-ifs with God’s Word.

For a month I had Philippians 4:6-7 as my background on my phone for a constant reminder. It helped me to think to pray, not worry.

I still have to catch myself and realign my thoughts on occasion. But I assure you, not of myself, but through scripture that God wants to hear your concerns and praises.

Memorizing scripture and keeping it with you daily will help you to remind you of that and get into right mindset.

Here are a few more verses that demonstrate God’s comfort when you are anxious:

“When I said, ‘My foot is slipping!’ but your unfailing love, Lord, supported me. When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought me joy” ~ Psalms 94:18-19

“I saw the Lord always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest in hope, because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, you will not let your holy one
see decay. You have made known to me the paths of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence.” ~ Acts 2:25-28

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you” ~ 1 Peter 5:7

Scripture shows us how God will provide for and be with us.
There is no need for “what if’s” in our lives, because we have a God who says “I will”.
“I will love you.”
“I will give you joy.”
“I will not abandon you.”

The next time you feel worried about something, whether it seems trivial or like the end of the world, pray about it right away. Give your problem to God, take comfort in Him and His Word, and let it go.

Deanna Yashinsky

Deanna Y bio.JPG

Leave a comment