Change Your Perspective & Find Joy

“Change Your Perspective & Find Joy”
a devotional by Timothy Seaman

I’m currently working my second year at Lake Lundgren, and I love this camp for many reasons. One being the fact that nearly everyone has a big smile and is super happy to be there.

I was homeschooled growing up, and thus didn’t fully understand what college and stuff would be like. I’m not going to lie…..It’s stressful.

I met a lot of people that weren’t Christians.
I met a lot of fellow students who complained about everything, especially the late hours of studying and the long days in the classroom.

I found myself complaining about some of these things too. I didn’t really think of it as a bad thing, just something that people in college do….

Well, I was reading through Galatians, and came across the fruit of the Spirit in Chapter 5, verse 22. I had been taught about the fruit of the Spirit basically my entire life, but for some reason, the word joy caught my eye. It got me thinking:
What is the point of complaining about my homework and stuff? Is this just stealing my joy? Is this getting in the way of God’s plan for my life? Well, God must’ve really wanted me to learn something, because it doesn’t end there.

The next Sunday, I saw my buddy at church. He works at a local Menards. Whenever I see him, he has this great big smile on his face that just naturally makes me want to smile. I asked him why it was that he did that. He told me that he just loves making people smile. Then, he said something like this. “Timothy, Jesus died on a cross willingly for you and me. He didn’t complain or yell or just stop trying. He did what he had to do to the best of His ability. How can I do any less for him? How can I do anything halfheartedly? Or complain about something that isn’t going to change whether I complain or not?”

I’ll never forget that conversation. It made me change my perspective. I’d like to challenge you. Is there something that you really dislike doing that regularly causes you to complain or lose your joy? Try to make sure that when you do that next, you do it with a smile on your face. Try to find something that makes it worth it. Because it is worth it. Colossians 3:23 says “And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men.”

Timothy Seaman

timothy-s

Leave a Reply

